Senator Ahmed Lawan Wins Senate Presidential Election


Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan of Yobe State has defeated his Borno State counterpart, Ali Ndume by 79 votes to emerge the Senate President.

Ndume scored a total of 28 votes.

Lawan represents the All Progressive Congress in the Yobe North Constituency of Yobe State.

He became a senator in 2007.

Lawan was elected to the House of Representatives for Yobe State in 1999. At different times Lawan who was very vocal during his times in the House, chaired the House Committees on education and agriculture.

In 2007, he won election to Senate.

In 2008, he was a member of the National Assembly’s Joint Committee on Constitution Review. In 2009, as chairman of the Senate committee on Public Accounts, Lawan initiated and sponsored the Desertification Control Commission Bill.


Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.